In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving public transport

In many countries, people suggest constructing new railway lines for speedy trains to interconnect cities, while others worry about the cost it involves and prefer for upgradation of existing public transport systems. This essay will suggest strict timing schedule followed by fast trains followed by analysis of cost-benefit imbalance if it may have had any. in my opinion, building railway lines for faster trains may not provide enough benefits compared to the investment it requires.

People want high-speed trains inbetween cities as many of them are now commuting to nearby cities to work. Trains, generally, do not have the problem of wasting time in traffic, which allow it to run on an fixed time schedule. This relieves the mental pressure on commuters who wait for bus in bus stops for hours.Moreover, faster trains, indeed, saves significant amount of travel time. The Times reported that the proportion of Tokyo's residents going to work to a nearby city Kyoto has increased considerably after the connection of two cities by bullet trains.

That being said, the cost of construction of new railway lines can be devastating for a country's economy. Right from buying lands, laying lines and connecting electricity to launching trains the cost can outgrow the benefits it provide. Japan went bankrupt after investing in building high-speed train corridors between Tokyo and Kyoto. Although Japanese used this transport extensively, Japan was unable to fetch the investment from its profits.

In conclusion, people argue in the favour of connecting cities with high-speed trains for its shorter and perfect travel timings, but the amount of money it engulfs can leave any country in debt and generations of its citizens to come to repay it. Thus, the clear deficit in benefits compared to its construction's cost , people should opt to improve existing public transportation, which costs far less than a new construction.