Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Not only will the smoker be affected by smoking but also people who surround them. Since it gradually destroys the respiratory system and may even cause cancer in certain people, it must be limited to one’s private space.

When a person smokes, the smoke from the cigar disperses into the atmospheric air which is then inhaled by people who stand nearby. This was proved by an Oxford University study, in which they claim that children of parents who smoke had immense amounts of smoke chemicals in their exhaled air. Even though all inhalants are not intentional smokers, the damage caused by the chemicals in the smoke is equal to all, as the same study reported of early onset of lung diseases among those children.

At the same time, it is immoral to let people suffer from consequences for crimes which they did not commit. Yes, smoking is, indeed, a crime because no one has permission to harm themselves or pollute the atmosphere. For instance, public smoking was banned in India after the incidence of lung cancer rates soared among school children because scientific evidence clearly indicates the link between lung cancer and cigarette smoke. Therefore, it is a moral duty to impose a ban on smoking in public places, particularly around children, to prevent the innocents from serious health consequences.

To conclude, people whoever stand near to a smoker inevitably inhale the smoke and get injured by it. Hence, I completely agree with the call for a ban on smoking in public spaces.