Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Passive smoking is equally injurious as active smoking; hence, some think that smoking needs to be prohibited in public spaces, which I completely agree with, because the harm imposed on unintentional smoker due to inhaling someone else’s cigar smoke is unfair, and the smell of cigar smoke is felt unpleasant generally.

The first and foremost reason to support the ban on public smoking is its unfairness in the causation of diseases among non-smokers. It is not uncommon for a smoker to suffer from diseases caused by smoking, and at the same time, it is also not uncommon to witness smoking-related health problems among people, especially children, who never smoke. This is mainly because people inevitably tend to inhale the smoke when someone smokes near them, which can happen, particularly, in public places. A recent study in India found that non-smokers who regularly board train or bus to work from stations that have cigar selling shops around them are at high risk of developing lung cancer than the general public.

The second reason in favour of the public smoking ban is the nuisance it creates for surrounding people. A strong odour is one of the characteristics of cigars’ smoke, and not many non-smokers tend to bear it; however, they are forced to withstand the smell when they are left with no choice while being in important public spots, such as bus stand or railway station. This can be best illustrated as the choiceless situation of fellow passengers in a single train compartment that is filled with the odour of smoke from a single smoker, which is clearly a public nuisance. Therefore, the ban on public smoking must be upheld by all means.

To conclude, smoking in public places harms people who pass by in addition to the smoker, and also the strong odour from the smoke irritates the bystanders. Thus, creating a public nuisance which clearly warrants the ban on smoking in public spaces.