Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Passive smoking, which is equally injurious to health as active smoking, is the reason to call for a ban on smoking in public places. I completely support the ban as it not only causes serious health problems to people who never intend to smoke but also creates a public nuisance.

Health problems among passive smokers are the primary concern for the ban on public smoking. The smoke from a cigarette as well as exhaled by a smoker into the atmosphere in a public place is inevitably inhaled by people standing nearby. This has the potential to cause certain diseases, especially respiratory disorders. In India, for instance, the lung cancer incidence’s rates among children without smoking history dropped dramatically after the ban on public smoking. Thus, smoking in public places must be prohibited by all means to protect the innocent younger generations.

Apart from the disease causation, smoking in public places are seen as a public nuisance. The smell of cigar smoke is often disliked by many and repulses people. Hence, smoking becomes an issue if someone smokes in an important public spot, such as bus stand or railway station, and people have no other choice than to bear the smell of smoke and be in that place. For example, when a person smokes inside a train, the entire compartment will be filled with smoke and its smell, but the fellow passengers may not necessarily like or be willing to bear the smell. Thus, the compulsion of people to inhale the smoke, which some abhors, irritates them.

In conclusion, public smoking must be banned because people who stand near a smoker in public place are choiceless but to inhale the smoke without intending to do so and injure their health. This may also create public nuisance since many do not like the smell of the smoke.