Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate. Which do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The purpose of schools is perceived to be more of entertaining by some, but others believe that educating children is the one and only job for it. In my belief, schools should be versatile in its approach, in which both the entertainment and education shall have their respective share.

Entertainment is the only factor that tends to attract certain age groups to schools. Given the level of maturity, elementary school children do not analyse importance of education or accept school routine when it is of monotonous in schedule. This is the reason for incorporating certain amount of entertaining activities, be it music or dance or roleplay, as distractions to make school sessions little more joyous. For instance, Japan made it mandatory for all their kindergarten schools to play cartoon shows inbetween periods to attract children to come to school every day.

At the same time, the distractions must possess some degree of educational value. Distractions, here, do not serve to take off children’s mind altogether from studies but just to prevent their boredom during school hours. In other words, students can be engaged with extracurriculars containing applied knowledge of syllabus. For exapmle, if children were allowed to do roleplays of shakespeare drama from their English literature, they would feel the burden of education a little light and tend to remember the novel ever after.

Arguments of whether school being more entertaining or strictly sticking to educating is broken down by the illustration of school’s purpose by Japan. And that is what I believe too.