Nowadays more and more children are appearing in reality shows. Some people feel it is a good trend. others do not agree.

Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Lately, reality shows feature more number of children than ever before. It is believed to be a positive change by some as it tends to help children socialize easily, while others disapprove of the dangers that is associated with it. In my opinion, there should be no restrictions for anyone to participate in reality shows unless they are proven unsafe.

To learn how to socialize via exposure is the main reason to allow children to participate in reality shows. These kinds of programmes will have people from different walks of life, which is completely strange to what an usual school child gets exposed, so appearing in such show helps the child to meet new people, learn to mingle, and form new friends outside the school and neighbourhood circle at a young age. The Times has reported that children who participate in reality shows, form more friends than those who do not. Hence, some people agree in favour of reality shows featuring children.

On the other hand, some are wary about the dangers associated with the reality shows. Most of these shows have risky tasks and games to fetch audience. At the same time, a child can neither give consent for the game it participates nor for the task it does, which means the child must bear the harm if anything goes wrong during the show. The popular reality show aired in early 2000s “Kill The Fear”, which was exclusively for kindergarten children, was banned in 2009 when a 5-year-old boy died in a pool while performing a water task. Thus, a few people object children involving in reality shows when they do not have proper age to give consent.

To conclude, there are two contrary opinions for allowing children to participate in reality shows. One opinion, which I also favour, is regarding the socializing skills a child learns from meeting new people in such shows and the other is against the idea of featuring children in reality shows for the dangers associated with it.