Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly thought that high school curriculum makes free-lancing community works mandatory. I completely agree to the point since it would ensure students be placed in prestigious universities and let them learn about certain social issues.

Firstly, the tag of voluntary community works during college application makes it stand out from others’. This is because of excessive application forms with good academic records being accumulates despite filtering through multiple criteria, and that is the reason universities have chosen to admit students with unique achievement like unpaid social activities, be it teaching to kindergarten children or assisting local health workers. Lately, Oxford University, for instance, has welcomed applications from students who volunteered in the 2015 London earthquake’s post-disaster epidemic control programmes. If the aim of school education for a student is to secure admission in a college, schools must play by the changing rules of it.

Secondly, community service also helps them to understand and solve the problems their community face. High school pupils have the maturity and energy to learn about their surroundings and work for it. This is supported by a study conducted by Cambridge, in which they claim that adolescents who are exposed to problems, find solutions faster than any other age group. Hence, students from teenage groups must be indulged in community works by their schools.

To conclude, parents want high schools to mandate free-lance in community service. Not only will it be beneficial in fetching admission in a top university but also expands the knowledge of the students about their society.