Some countries encourage children to do paid work. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Children are motivated to work for pay by countries. Eventhough it has some benefits like improvement in financial status and exposure to the outside world, it has some drawbacks like disturbances to the basic education and future career of the children.

In case of advantages, paid work at a young may help children to improve their financial status. A earning child can support the family and contribute to the expenses and consequently, reduce the financial burden of the family. The other benefit is the exposure to the real outside world. Many things, be it doing business or a manual work, are better learnt from working than from studying, so children who work from their childhood have the opportunities to learn a lot before reaching their adulthood. For instance, China’s mining labourers, who have worked in the mining industry since they were 5 years old, found to have more knowledge than the mining engineering graduates. Thus, a child can improve its knowledge and financial status if it works from childhood

Conversely, the consequences of doing paid joba from a young age can devastating for a child. Firstly, the basic education, which every child must have, is completely disturbed by the work as children are unable to do two things at once. Secondly, the future career of the child is lost as a consequence of improper basic education. When a child is deprived of basic education, it can never learn the basic skills and climb the ladder in their career, rather ends up being exploited in slave jobs. This was evident in Meghalaya’s jute industry where the children are made to work 20 hours a day in order to prevent them from going to schools and make these children to depend on these jute industries forever for money. Therefore, a lack of basic education destroys a child's future

To conclude, children are made to do paid jobs in some countries. The advantages of this includes improvement of the child’s financial status and exposure to the outside world to learn many things, but paid jobs at a young age ruins a child’s education as well as its future career.