Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that co-operation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that competitive skills be taught to children at school; whereas the skills to work as a team and to be co-operative are weighed more than any other skills by others. If competitive skills allow children to improve its performance on whatever it engages with, team working skills and co-operative skills enable students to socialize more easily.

On the one hand, some parents want schools to teach competitive skills since it improve a student’s overall performance. Competing with one another, be it in an exam or any sports, makes children to realise their mistakes for lagging behind and their levels of performance. This, in turn, will help the student to work-out a plan on areas they need correction to achieve their goal. In Finland, all the schools had submitted a report in 1980, in which they reported a positive correltion between the competitive nature and the progression of a student in any educational activities. Therefore, schools have the duty to teach certain skills to students to compete.

On the other hand, others believe in a skill that helps students to co-operate with others to work as a team, as it has shown to help students socialize with ease. Being in a team, taking responsibility for some amount of work, and engaging with the other members of the team in co-ordinated manner, inevitably, improves a student’s confidence and ability to get along with fellow mates, nevertheless. This is supported by a study conducted by Oxford University, in which they claim that as more the number of hours students made to work as a team, their levels of confidence to mingle with others increases sharply. Thus, stressing the need for co-operation and team work skills to be taught in schools.

In conclusion, people support the idea of teaching competitive skills in schools as it makes students progress by increasing their outcome, but others want students to learn team working skills to improve their socializing behaviour. In my opinion, a student need to learn any skill, whether it is competitive or co-operative skills, that helps them to be more productive.