Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only after practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. Agree or disagree?

Education is fundamental right of a child. It leads to a individual progress. Some people argue that, subjects like philosophy and history should not be taught in universities because there are less chances of growth in such fields. I completely disagree with this. I believe that every course has its own value, hence they should be taught in the universities.

To begin with, not everyone can pursue practical degree because not everyone has the same level of intellect. Most of the people find it difficult to study practical courses. The caliber of every individual is not same. It is true that practical courses like science, finance have more job opportunities but this does not imply that universities should stop teaching arts subjects. There are pretty much chances for growth in subjects like philosophy, history, political science etc. it depends how an individual seek for different growth opportunities.

In subject, like philosophy people become more logical thinkers which make them better decision makers. This knowledge is beneficial for them at individual as well as macro level. Economy needs logical thinkers to make right decisions. Practical knowledge along with philosophical knowledge is best combination and if one can have both of them, then he must pursue that. For instance, most of the companies hire philosophy students to recruit people in their organization, as they can choose right kind of people for their company.

To conclude, I second with the fact that every subject should be taught in universities because not everyone has interest in practical subjects. Combination of both is required for higher growth.