rising university fees and scarce of employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that the university should not teach the art subject, like philosophy and history and only offer practical degree course that maximize the chance of employment

The rise in university fees and the scarce of employment prospects for graduates have led to demand of better quality in university course. Several ideas have been shown up, but I totally agree with the idea about cutting off the art subjects, like philosophy and history and focus on the practical degree course in university.

Learning art subjects is considered as time-consuming. As for the university students, they have to spend at least one year to deal with all the subjects related to philosophy and history. But surprisingly, few of their respond after learning these subjects said that the knowledge gained to use as an effective tools for their later study in university or be practical in their further career path. Moreover, having the art subjects as necessary ones in the university curriculum might make the students' burden harder both in finance and study. These subjects are hardly attractive to every single students in university, and forcing them learning and paying these subject with the rising fees might stress them out. And, in the end, students just want to finish the subjects by all means which is counterproductive to the students' interest in studying.

On the other, learning the art subjects as a base for the further study in the major subjects is efficient. Due to the time to study the philosophy and history is the first year in university which plays an important role in helping newbies to keep up with the new method to study in their university and learn new set of skills such as analyzing, solving, examining,... However, the time is passed by so fast and the employers demand more about professional skills of employee, the course which focus on practical knowledge and maximize the ability of the students is more suitable these days. The course with the practical materials can ease students to diverse the chance of employment and the industry targeted with shorter time.

In conclusion, I think having art subjects as optional choices in university curriculum and focusing more to the practical degree course can accommodate the wish of students in employment and financing the fees