Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach art subject like philosophy and history and only other practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Education being a precursor of bright future need to be job specific, according to some because the hefty university fees as well as limited job offers made it mandatory these days to opt for professional degrees rather than art courses. In my opinion, I agree that students of modern generation need to be smart enough to put their scarce resources in professional programs.

First and foremost, unemployment is indeed a worldwide concern which has been risen lately, therefore the universities should encourage the students towards career oriented courses such as nursing, engineering, accounting and so on, as a result, increasing the skilled pool of our national youth generation. Moreover, these programs also provide indispensable outcomes at considerable scale in the field of education and healthcare which are the two basic amenities of people living in our society. Therefore, according to me, universities should focus more on imparting professional education instead of non professional. Secondly, on the contrary, programs like philosophy and history does not hold significant value in our day to day life and also work related to these fields are not paid well internationally. Consequently, it is certain that the students valuable money and time would go in vain if they pursued their education in such areas. In addition to that they might also end up sitting idle at home without getting their dream job.

Nevertheless, students should not be enforced to make their career decisions on the benchmarks of job security and higher wages as education is a process of learning as well as enhancing one's skills in streams of their personal choices of educational careers. Philosophy as well as other art courses should be delivered by the universities for those who are not academically brilliant and needed to be enrolled in simple programs like arts along with that it is the keen interest of an individual students who desired to be a great philosopher rather than to be well qualified doctor in foreseeable future. It is the need of the hour that universities should provide a wide range of courses to aspiring students irrespective of their academic cost and employment probability in near future.

To recapitulate, admittedly the shortage of economic funds and job opportunities are crucial elements while making the decision for academic courses. The students, however, must follow their hearts as nothing goes in waste when done wholeheartedly.