Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Write at least 250 words.

As the number of scientific researches has increase significantly during a few last decades due to the support of technological advancements, opinion has been divided on whether or not governments should completely in charge of them. Although there are many private organizations that possess enough resources to carry out such matter, my view is that governmental managements on scientific researches will likely bring more benefits to the society.

Nowadays, several multinational corporations have tried to execute their own academic researches, especially in scientific field, to improve their business performances. Such companies usually have strong financial support for those researches, and they are willing to hire professional scientists to join them. Scientific researches controlled by private organizations are generally considered more profitable as they usually serve for the purposes of enhancing business activities, which means better products and services for customers. In addition, those researches are likely free of political pressure, the fact that leads to a higher contribution from researchers.

Notwithstanding the foregoing benefits of running scientific researches by private companies, I believe that those projects should be carried out and controlled by the governments. Among the agreeable advantages of governmental managements on scientific researches are more control on environmental effect and better use to benefit the society. It is quite undeniable that doing scientific researches could harm the environment at certain a level, as chemical substances involving on those researches might be disposed without any treatments. The appropriate management of governments will likely alleviate such impacts on environment as well as protect the habitats of other living species. Furthermore, scientific researches carried out and controlled by government are believed to improve the world welfare as well as contribute to the overall development of humankind. Consequently, achievement from those researches are usually more beneficial for the whole society.

From the aforementioned discussion, it is arguable that while scientific researches carried out by private organizations could be useful in economic scale, the management of governments on such type of researches will likely bring more benefits for the society.