Scientist say that in the future humanity will speak the same language Do you think this is a positive or negative social development

While there are thousands of languages being spoken around the world these days, it is said that only one common language will exist as a means of communication in the future. In my opinion, despite some positive impacts this development might have, its negative sides are much more considerable.

On the one hand, the emergence of a global language can give humanity several benefits. One evident benefit is that with the language barriers removed, business will achieve greater efficiency since its progress is more time-saving and cost-effective. The economy of a country will, therefore, develop faster, which is associated with the improvement in human life quality. Another advantage is students can have better opportunities getting access to new knowledge from other countries and apply it into their real lives, which will help foster the development of the third-world countries. For example, if Vietnamese people can get technological advances of Japan like technology of road construction, they can easily address several issues about traffic and transportation in Vietnam.

On the other hand, the adoption of a universal language also triggers many problems. In fact, apart from being a communicating tool, a language represents its users’ culture as well as tradition and history of the country where it is spoken. When current languages are replaced by a unique international one, chances are a country’s core identity like culture will disappear. Also, many languages carry a unique story or even a lesson in the past which is closely connected to religion, beliefs and lifestyles. Using only one language may, consequently, makes human being suffer from the loss of cultural diversity and historical values, and eventually leads human life to boredom with the disappearance of these aspects.

In conclusion, although an international language could better the world in some aspects, it is likely to do more harm than good to human life.