Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think the advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the question of whether a global language should be adopted or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this idea is not without advantages, the downsides will overshadow.

On the one hand, there are some certain advantages if humans spoke the sole language. First, since a global language facilitates communication between people, it will allow many countries to bolster economic growth. In fact, Singapore could be a salient example of this situation as it is a nation where English is considered as the first language, which opens avenues for foreign investment to penetrate into Singapore’s market thanks to a flexible business transaction. Second, by boosting language homogeneity, people may have more opportunities to enrich their knowledge. This means that all the documents will be transferred to one language, which helps people have a full grasp of many fields such as science or math.

On the other hand, there are an array of disadvantages of adopting a global language for every country. First, if people spoke one language only, they may leave the cultural diversities at stake. In fact, each country has its own way of life as well as norms that are embedded in their language, thus creating a special feature of a country’s culture. Second, in order to keep the national identity, having mother tongue is necessary. For example, Hong Kong, the country where people speak Cantonese, has fought many years to not to be assimilated into China, which is an indication that they have not allowed Mandarin to be spoken in their country.

In conclusion, although the idea of adopting a global language appears attractive, the drawbacks will be far more significant. By considering all the pros and cons of speaking a sole language, humans can make the best decision for themselves down the road.