Scientists say that junk food is harmful to people's health. Some say the way to ask people to eat less fast food is to educate them, while others say education does not work. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Presently, hectic life style has forced people to depend on processed food. According to scientists, junk food has been one of the serious causes of prevailing health issues. One of optimal solutions suggested to tackle this problem is education. However, while some argue that it would not be the most effective measure. This essay discusses both opinions but is in agreement that education will not work in this case.

To begin with, there are several reasons for considering education as a fundamental solution for the junk food problem. Firstly, education is commonly believed to be able to change people’s perspective on junk food. Specifically, well-educated about the negative influence of junk food on health make people aware of the risks involved with the consumption of the kind of food. To illustrate, fast foods are high in calories and low in nutrition. These foods are rich in harmful substances such as fat, salt, and sugar. Preservatives are also added in junk food and all these things can cause heart diseases, cancer, diabetes, and obesity. Educating people, consequently, increases the preference of the healthier diet over the convenience food and promotes health by keeping diseases at bay.

Nevertheless, it is true that considering education as the key answer for the problem is not justifiable. One of the main reasons is that people’s perspective is not the only element that affects their decision on choosing food for meals. By virtue of mass media, people nowadays could be well-informed of the negative influence of junk food. Though, occupied life is main culprit, which means masses usually be in a hurry and meal of junk food help them save time, leading to the increasing junk food intake. Additionally, although being aware of health problems caused by junk food, people may keep eating this kind of food as they consider cooking more of a chore than pleasure in the fast paced life.

After considering the convenience of fast foods, educating people would not help. Thus, it

is better making fast food healthier by restricting use of preservatives, trans-fatty acids and saturated fats. Whole wheat breads could be used instead of white breads and juices should be served along with such foods instead of carbonated drinks.

To conclude, education can be a great solution for the junk food problem, but it should be implemented along with others solutions to reduce the amount of junk food consumption.