Scientists use living animals to carry out research. Some people think it is interesting, while some others think it is cruel. What is your opinion ?

Animal experimentation has long been the subject of heated debate. It is true that scientists often test medicines on living animals before coming to human’s use. While I tend towards the viewpoint that those experiments are morally wrong, I am in the support of reducing the amount of animals used in medical research.

On the one hand, the lives of all creatures on earth should be respected. Some medicines, when in testing, may consist of a large proportion that, if the project fails, can kill the animals. Opponents of such research argue that human have no right to make animals suffer to this kind of trauma. Every animal deserves a needing care that equalized to human and scientists will have to join in the adventure of finding alternative methods of experimentation.

On the other hand, there are not always reliable and available alternatives for research on living animals. Basically, we would feel abnormal if one of the members in our family must use the medicine that hasn’t gone through testing. Upholding the thought that using animals to carry out research is cruel, however, some people agree that a small amount of suffering on the body of a rat can be worthy if it saves a human life. Personally, I agree on banning using animals for non-medical experimentation. Besides, I still feel it is a necessary evil if useful drugs and medical procedures are concerned.

In conclusion, lessening the number of animals using for research is crucial, if there is still no alternatives for such phenomenon.