Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

These days, the question of whether authorities should invest in rare language or not has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this project seems to be a waste of money, the benefits would be far more significant.

There are several reasons why saving these languages is not imperative. First, since these languages are spoken by minimal numbers of people, they are not ubiquitous. In fact, in the industrialized world like in the present, citizens should only learn necessary languages such as English or Japanese as countries using those languages have dominated job markets, which creates better employment possibilities. Second, by allocating to those minority languages, governments would not have enough money for other more important concerns. For instance, students could not be well-trained and well-educated as schools lack teaching and learning facilities or the demand for the healthcare of people could not be accommodated due to the shortage of medical services. Therefore, national prosperity may not be achieved.

Others are in favor of the idea that preserving languages that are on the verge of extinction is of great benefit to citizens and the entire nation also. First, as plenty of researchers suggest that languages were born through daily activities in the past such as singing, saving languages means saving cultures. In fact, the maintenance of languages opens a window to different interesting cultures, which helps people to expand more knowledge about the world. Also, in order to save a language, some feasible solutions could be done with a small amount of money to invest in. For example, schools could introduce language classes to students and encourage them to take those causes with some discounts, which could trigger their curiosity and offer employment to native speakers who become teachers.

In conclusion, this trend supposes to bring further advantages. With careful consideration, governments can make better solutions to save languages which are knowledge sources of humans.