Several languages die every year. Many people feel this is a positive trend and that a world with fewer languages promotes harmony and understanding between people. Analyze both sides of this argument and provide your opinion.

Nowadays, many languages around the world are disappearing at a fast rate. Opinions as to whether this is a positive or negative trend are mixed. Some people think that we can improve communication efficiency by using only the major languages. Others argue that the diversity of languages should be respected and appreciated. In my opinion, it is necessary to protect those rare languages as they are precious humanity’s heritages.

Many people believe that it is important to maintain language diversity and to save those languages that are dying. On the one hand, there is a fundamental relationship between language and culture. People use language to present their culture and record their history. When a language dies the culture associated with it also dies. Then the wealth of knowledge and information contained in the culture will become inaccessible to future generations. On the other hand, there are also human rights and ethical reasons. All languages should be equal, no matter how many people are using that language. By supporting language diversity we are strengthening people’s recognition of their own culture and identity.

However, some people argue that fewer languages will promote better harmony and understanding. This is true to a certain extent. Communication would be direct and convenient. People from different countries could chat without language barriers. As I see, this opinion is quite thin-skinned. Language diversity will not divide human beings, but lack of respect will. In my case, I will never be friends with people who don’t respect my identity, even if we use the same language.

To conclude, the trend of reduction in linguistic diversity seems to bring some benefits. But it actually causes more harm to human development. And it is also a kind of unfairness and disrespecting to some people who was not involved in mainstream culture. Therefore, we should not easily eliminate any language. And I believe that with respect for the culture of others, using different languages will not bring the barriers of understanding each other.