Social media is becoming increasingly popular among all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media website does have risks.

Do you think that advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

With the rapidly growth of internet, social media has gain certain amount of attention from children to elders, there is no doubt that social media require certain amount of personal information. Some people believe sharing personal information in social media is beneficial, while other people deem that by sharing personal information cause some issues. This essay agree on social media disadvantage outweigh the advantages.

As a people of all age can now excess to social media, one certain type of individual might not be have enough immunity for browsing through social media, which is children. Children commonly have low immunity due to their nature of being inexperience, by blindly browsing in social media especially without supervision from adults can expose themselves to unwanted content. For example, the violence content, which lead to being influenced to have violence behaviour or causing childhood trauma.

Social media can be problematic for adults too. Many people feeling comforting sharing their own opinions, personal views and other stuff on social media that they do not usually share in real life. The information might be sensitive or risk of getting exploit. There are several news and articles about how an employee lose a job because of the one comment on social media or how a personal information on social media can attach an unwanted attention, for instant, a stalker.

In conclusion, social media might be useful due to one of the main goal is to connect people together. However, using social media without any awareness can do more harm than good to people of all age.