Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, social media is growing in popularity among people of all age. Despite of their many advantages, these websites also present some risks associated to the costumer's privacy. In my opinion, the innovating way of communication brought by social media is considerably powerful and is worth compared to the disadvantages.

In fact, when people share their ideas and knowledges online, they are proposing a great moment of education which is beneficial for everyone. For instance, a social issue widely discussed on Facebook can open different views and health discussions may emerged, leading to a new awareness and sensitization of the users on a particular problem. Furthermore a social media such as Youtube has presented a huge change in entertainment industry, since the audience is directly connected to the entertainer and feel the advantage of being closer to him.

However, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and so on are considered to have many drawbacks. If people share their personal information, they are also more exposed to some unpleasant situations. Two well known problems of social media are cyberbullying and cybersecurity. The first one is often affected by young people who are more vulnerable than adults and can experiment online dramatic mocking by kids of their own age. The second one is due to the fact that whoever is connected to, for example, Facebook is providing confidential data, risking hacking and identity theft. Hence, using social media might put the young but also the adults in dangerous and precautions have to be taken.

To conclude, I think that social websites offer an opportunity of being part of a solid and stimulating community, although their consequent risks, especially for naive users, have to be taken into account. Therefore, a correct and careful use is recommended.