Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication and people use more and more social media to communicate and to follow news and events Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

With the development of technology, there is a transition within the way in which information is disseminated. Some people assert that the rise of various social media contributes to some problems such as fake news and cyber fraud, while others do not agree. From my perspective, the development of social media is conducive to a betterment of our society because the advantages of this trend far outweigh the disadvantages.

Undeniably, there are several drawbacks to using social media. The most immediate one is a strong bias against a particular issue. While social media provides people with a platform where they can freely express their unique perspectives or experiences, it is easier for them to isolate themselves from the general ideas. That is, people might become more opinionated and the messages they convey are less than objective. Second, the authenticity of information posted by social media should be called into question. Due to the fact that everyone can serve as a journalist just through their social network platforms freely, it is always the case that no one can actually confirm whether or not the information they released are correct and high-quality. Nevertheless, the above problems do not necessarily mean that we should avoid social media.

In fact, humans get several unprecedented benefits from social media. First and foremost, the popularity of social media ushers in an era of information explosion which allows us to have a better connection with this world. People can always personally publish their news on social media without any government approval and censorship. Despite the fact that fake news and opinionated ideas abound in the social network, traditional media such as TV broadcasts and newspapers do not necessarily offer accurate and authentic information because governments also control what the public should know. Moreover, social media gives us the ability to quickly get a huge amount of information all over the world. The ability to get information is almost important for every walk of life, especially for business people. For instance, a company could gain an opportunity to take an excess profit margin, if they find a manufacturer who provides a lower price on production or a group of consumers with higher demand.

In conclusion, both of the two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that we should keep the diversity of social media, as the new communication tool has profound impacts on every aspect of people’s lives.