In many countries women are allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs during the first month after the birth of their baby Does advantage outweigh disadvantages

In recent years, there has been a growing concern about whether women should spend more time on their job than their families. This has led to the suggestion that women should be allowed to take maternity leave from their jobs for a few months after they give birth. From my perspective, it is wise to follow this advice as the benefits of this decision outweigh its drawbacks.

Admittedly, there are some disadvantages that women stay at home for a few months after the birth of their baby. For instance, if a pregnant woman does not come to the company after she gives birth, the company will need to find a temporary substitute for the work which might not be easy. Moreover, when mothers return to the work after a few months, they will not get updated with the recent development of their company. In other words, it is hard for them to connect with the previous work.

Despite the disadvantages, there are also some benefits to having maternity leave. For example, if mothers want to stay at home after she gives birth, companies will be able to keep a good member of staff. Given this pregnancy-friendly policy, a large proportion of mothers-to-be, specifically those with a managerial position, do not need to sacrifice their promising careers, and neither do the companies pay a heavy price of losing these gifted employees. Besides, maternity leave can give women a break and enjoy time with their newborn baby without financial concerns, which help mothers to do better in their jobs later.

Considering the positive influences on mothers and their companies, I would argue that the benefits of maternity leave surpass the negatives. Although there are some drawbacks of letting “new mothers” stay at home instead of going to work, there are still many advantages. Given that women have the right to take a rest after giving birth, it is reasonable for them to take maternity leave.