Some people like to spend their money as soon as they earn it while others think it is better to save their money for some time in the future Which do you prefer Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

Concern about financial circumstances is always there, and the recent economic crisis due to the supply shock has made it more pronounced. Some people assert that our lifestyle should be more frugal during this crisis, while others do not agree. From my perspective, it is more sagacious for us to spend money once we get paid although we can benefit from saving money.

Admittedly, saving money will bring us the following benefits. First of all, accumulating money can enhance our ability to resist potential risk in the future. For instance, if we get some intractable diseases, like cancer, we have to pay a large amount of money to save our life. At the moment, our savings play an important role to provide such money in a short period of time. Second, saving money can help us to develop the habit of frugality. Third, saving money can make us have enough money to donate to charity, making our society better off.

In fact, saving money will probably worsen our life quality, because of the following reasons. First and foremost, we will lose a lot of precious opportunities to experience beautiful moments that should have been ours. This is because, for example, we will refuse friends’ invitation to travel together. We only order some cheap but undesirable items and cancel some sumptuous anniversaries in order to curtail our spending for saving money. Although we always anticipate that we would use money in the future to get enough compensation for today’s pity, the truth is that time cannot be bought by money. A lot of things, like accompanying our parents, are what we should do right now. Therefore, carpe diem, literally referring to seizing the day, should be a part of our lifestyle.

In addition, in today’s post-pandemic era, countries all over the world are affected by hyperinflation. This means that the value of money deposited in our savings account will continue to depreciate. This indicates that we should spend our money before our saving is being eroded by inflation. Besides inflation, wars are another relentless killer of our savings. Take the confrontation between Russia and Ukraine as an example. Houses and cars worth billions of dollars will become a ground of debris after being attacked by a missile. What’s worse, the currency of Ukraine has turned into nothing but junk after Ukraine was invaded by Russia. This is because all the value of fiat currency is tied with our governments. This means that our savings will teeter on the brink of becoming garbage, once the position of our governments is threatened.

In conclusion, both of two views have their pros and cons, but still, I maintain that it is preferable to spend out our money, as its beneficial effects outweigh the rest.