Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes for example working for a charity improving the neighbourhood or teaching sport for younger children To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, there has been a growing concern about how to increase students’ social engagement. This has led to a suggestion that volunteer work should be integrated into high school courses. In my opinion, this constructive idea is completely viable despite some manageable demerits.

Admittedly, volunteering consumes students’ too much energy, which prevents students from concentrating on one serious thing, particularly their academic study. It is reported that high school students find it challenging to juggle voluntary work and school commitments. They often do not have sufficient time to prepare for their high-stakes examinations or even take a good rest after school because of the weekly unpaid community service. Consequently, students could not cope with schoolwork with great aplomb, nor could they take all of their obligations in stride. Nevertheless, this does not necessarily imply that students should shy away from volunteer work.

In fact, there are two benefits accruing from engaging in voluntary jobs. The immediate one is that participants can cultivate a sense of empathy. For example, students who were born with a silver spoon might show lesser compassion for the poor. After they are being forced to do volunteer work by their school, they would have a chance to understand how difficult real life is.

In addition, students do this unpaid community service can relieve study-related stress. Many scientific studies have shown that as time goes on, there are many students facing the depressive disorder because of the pressure from school. In order to solve it, the scientists suggest that the best option for students is to do volunteer work. According to data, after students do their voluntary work, their dopamine levels will have significant increased, which can prevent depressive disorder.

In conclusion, the idea of doing unpaid community service is completely viable. Although it might make students busier, they can acquire empathy and release stress. Hence, high school students should seize the chance to make contributions to society.