Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how to deal with crime reduction, and this has turned into a dilemma facing many. Many people believe that the best way to tackle this is to place people in prison for longer periods, while others think that other measures will be more effective. From my perspective, both longer prison sentences and alternative strategies should be simultaneously adopted.

On the one hand, there are several benefits of giving law offenders longer prison sentences. The immediate one is that longer prison sentences could act as a deterrent for someone who is thinking of committing a crime. We all know that there is not much freedom in prison. If this harsh policy is carried out, criminals may be afraid of being deprived of their freedom.

On the other hand, others have proposed less strict strategies, like education, to prevent crime. This policy allows some teachers to teach criminals some survival skills and instill in them a sense of social responsibility, thereby temporarily preventing them from engaging in illegal activities.

In my opinion, both viewpoints have advantages and disadvantages, but I still maintain that the government is advised to combine longer prison sentences and alternative strategies to fight crime. If we just carry out lengthy imprisonment without teaching criminals anything useful, it will be wasting their time. Also, the government needs to spend a lot of money on criminals’ daily necessities. Likewise, the short-term imprisonment could not effectively help improve criminals’ moral character since they are confined to an environment full of villains. To conclude, there are pros and cons of longer jail sentences, so governments must continue to develop effective policies to ensure crime will reduced in the long run.