Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes for example working for a charity improving the neighbourhood or teaching sport for younger children To what extent do you agree or disagree

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how to improve students’ social involvement. This has led to the suggestion that the school authorities should integrate unpaid community service into the high school curriculum. From my perspective, this constructive idea is completely viable, albeit some manageable demerits.

Admittedly, some parents argue doing unpaid community service is time-consuming and stressful considering the fact that schoolwork and health should be always prioritized. Students are always busy at the end of each semester, during which they need to juggle their school commitment and voluntary jobs. Being overwhelmed with too much obligation, they might find it physically and mentally challenging to get everything done well. However, this does not necessarily imply/mean that students should shy away from volunteering.

In fact, volunteering can help students become a mature and well-rounded person in the future. For example, helping the disabled and elderly in hospital will develop their sense of sympathy. Moreover, the altruistic activities volunteering can also build a sense of social responsibility as they are part of the community as well. There is some evidence that students may gain a sense of belonging and recognition after showing devotion to their community.

In conclusion, the idea of making community service a mandatory high school program is completely feasible. In spite of the concern for wasting time, volunteering aids students in fostering a sense of compassion and responsibility, both of which will definitely help them with their future life or career. Hence, high school students should dedicate/devote more time and energy to this meaning work.