Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Please help me to check this essay. Thanks a lot!!!

It is commonly argued that volunteering should be an obligatory part of high school curriculum. Although it has its own benefits to students to a certain extent, I am of the opinion that it should be optional which students can do something of their own choice.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why the young people are encouraged to do more community service. The main benefit is that youngsters can gain their sense of personal responsibility towards their communities. Doing activities such as taking care of elderly people in nursing home and collecting food and clothes for people who meet with difficulties will teach the youth moral values with a strong sense of self and obtain more awareness about their society and from these they will make efforts to improve the life for all citizens. Furthermore, students also would get the experience and much easier to get the job than those who did not do community activities. For example, when they have been teaching for poor students free of charge for a while, they will have a nice curriculum vitae with a little experience in teaching to apply for a job and they also can get the higher salary than those who does not have skills as well.

On the other hand, high school students have to face to many assignments and presentations with a limited period of time, so they do not have much free time to do other activities. As a result, they will get stressed if community services are mandatory of their school curricula, and they cannot get high score in the examinations because of various distractions from them. Additionally, because the youth has never attended doing different activities whether they are into or not and they do not have any skills related to these activities such as communication skills, public speaking skills and task and time management skills, they cannot fulfill exactly all the requirements then gradually feel uninterested and spread effect. Therefore, it is extremely difficult for them to pleasure for volunteering in the near future.

In conclusion, there are more persuasive reasons that if students pay much attention to community service, they will ignore their homework and hard to pass the exam with flying colors and with other visible pressures, they are not willing to do it anymore. hence, students should do free public service voluntarily instead of being included in high school curricula.