Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that unpaid community activities should be put in the school curriculum as a mandatory part. While I accept that these outdoor activities are advantageous to high school students to some extent, I am of the opinion that the learners should not be forced to do social work.

On the one hand, joining community service brings high school learners some obvious advantages. First, students who do community work such as working for a charitable organization or teaching younger children may acquire plenty of interpersonal skills namely communication and teamwork skills. The reason is that when they work, they need to cooperate closely with other team members to complete their assigned tasks, or it is necessary for them to learn how to talk to the elderly and younger children in a proper way. Second, the learners given an opportunity to be part of a social program are likely to create a first impression on work recruiters or even universities. For instance, there are thousands of applications from straight-A students to famous universities like Oxford University, yet only a limited percentage of applicants are selected thanks to doing community work on a voluntary basis.

On the other hand, I would argue that schools should not force high school students to participate in those social activities as a part of schooling. The first problem is that these people spend much time not only studying at school but also doing homework, which means that if they do such required extracurricular activities, they might not have enough time to fulfill their academic commitments. This causes the students to suffer from stress having a negative impact on their physical and emotional health. Furthermore, that these learners spend time taking part in community programs means lessening an amount of spare time for doing sports and loved ones, which may assist them in generating a great deal of energy so that they continue studying the following day.

In conclusion, although there are some real benefits of engaging in community programs for high school learners, I still believe that it is not obligatory for them to do these social activities.