Solving environmental problems should be the responsibility of one international organization rather than each national government. Do you agree or disagree?

Environment deterioration is one of the great concerns to the survival and development of humankind in the dawn of the third minllenium. It is believed that the responsibility to deal with environmental problems should be shouldered by one international establishment. I somewhat disagree with this view as international coordination alone can not cope with the issue as it requires the knowledge of local conditions, which may only be acknowledged by individual governments, albeit it is advantageous for the organization to a certain extent.

It is more difficult for international environmental organizations to solve negative environmental implications than governments. The hardship stems from the shortage of knowledge covering local geography, culture, and even religious belief. This disables the international establishment to deliver instant assistance when needed. By contrast, national governments are more capable of processing environmental problems. Apart from an understanding of local cultures, the local authorities are equipped with legislations and forces, which are more effective to deter reckless acts against as well as conserve the environment. Therefore, governments have more tools at their disposal to protect the environment, while their international counterpart is burdened with a lack of local understanding.

Admittedly, there are merits associated with the interference of international cooperation in preserving the earth's equilibrium. One of the advantages is the ability to call into mutual actions of nations. This multiplies the effects of strategies utilized for curbing global warming, climate change, or reducing carbon footprint. However, the approach can not be harnessed without the support of single governments, which still holding key to the success of such campaigns.

In sum, I mostly disagree with the perception that only one international organization can resolve challenges of the environmental degradation. While the organization can rally support internationally, they lack the comprehension of factors relate to specific areas as opposed to local governments.