Some children find learning history at school very exciting, but many others think it is very boring. In what ways can history be brought to life for all school children?

History has always been an important part of school education, but different pupils show different levels of interest in studying it. It is argued that a lot of students find this subject mundane, which puts a major dent on their academic growth. However, visiting historical sites and using online resources can effectively make studying history enjoyable.

One way to deal with this problem is arranging group trips to various historical places in the country. This experiance brings theoratical facts about distant past to life for young minds, and makes it more real for them. As a result, they become curious about knowing more stories behind those historical structures. For example, taking school children to Auschwitz on a one day tour is a good way to inform them about Holocaust and its effect on jews. Moreover, these tours can work as important tool to engage in group discussions and help them in making better social ties with other children who are interested in history. All in all, this whole experiance can make studying history just more than a forced exercise required to pass exams.

Another method to counter boredom associated with historical study is to encourage use of computers to gain information about historical figures. Since, internet is quite famous among school students these days, reading about historical personalities by using online resources will not feel like a burden and instead become leaisure activity. Moreover, historical information is regularly updated on internet and new interesting information is added to create variety. There are plethora of blogs about Nelson Mandela, for instance, bringing new facts from his life everyday, that can inspire school students to read history of black people. This method also has an added benefit that computer skills learned by students while researching can be used to know about other subjects and motivate youngsters to indulge in research and critical thinking.

To conclude, many school students are not keen about studying history and find it monotonous but combining academic exercise with outdoor tours and online tools can prove significantly effective. However, using internet for getting historical information is undoubtedly the best method to make studying history fun because of its popularity among youngsters and effect on research skills of students.