Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is the case that lots of children spend hours on smartphones daily, which may result from several factors and can be considered disadvantageous from my perspective.

Among the elements contributing to the lengthy daily engagement of children with smartphones is the penetration of technology into human social life, which is an objective circumstance of society. With the fast-paced renovation of technological advances, electronic devices are playing a more and more crucial role in people's life, replacing several manual activities with automatic or computer-used ones, so it is understandable for children to access technology devices, including smartphones, from a young age. Furthermore, many 21st-century parents appear to lack quality time with their children. Some may focus so much on their career that they give their kids a phone and let them do whatever they want with that electronic device to do their work wholeheartedly. Others are willing to fulfil their children's demand to use their phones without the mere thought that smartphones can be harmful. This reality gradually leads to kids' using smartphones for a long time every day.

Allowing children to spend much time in a day using smartphones can be detrimental, in my opinion, in two main ways. The foremost apparent facet influenced by phones is human health. Prolonged screen time can lead to poor posture, eye strain and a lack of physical activity, contributing to obesity and decreased cardiovascular healthiness. Regarding human mental health, excessive smartphone use can disrupt people's sleep and impact their memory, which reduces their cognitive and learning skills. Another factor that prolonged smartphone use can affect is human social life and social skills. Smartphones have made social networking websites more accessible but have also impacted how our youth interact in real life since they find it easy to make friends online and converse with them via messaging. Youngsters' dependency on phones, to put it another way, has reduced their ability to talk with others in person. Also, excessive smartphone use may allow false idolization, social media addiction and cyberbullying to arise uncontrollably, worsening people's performances at school and work and even putting their lives at risk.

In conclusion, there are reasons why children spend hours and hours on smartphones every day, and this trend, I believe, yields drawbacks rather than any benefits that can be noticed.