Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is sometimes argued that children are spending the majority of their day with eyes glued to their smartphones. There are quite a few factors contributing to this phenomenon, and personally I consider this a negative trend.

First and foremost, there are various reasons attributing to this particular notion. Primarily, children are using their phones as a form of entertainment. This could be further explained by the fact that smartphones are now providing human society with a wide range of entertainment options, ranging from mobile games to social media and streaming platforms. As a result, children tend to be drawn to these activities mainly for leisure as well as to connect with friends. Another noteworthy aspect lies in the fact that many children are choosing to spend time on their smartphones as a way to escape from reality or a coping mechanism. This is mainly because of a lack of other activities which children could utilize to deal with stress, boredom and other negative emotions. Consequently, youngsters tend to distract themselves by the means of digital content available through their phones.

Nevertheless, despite all the causes mentioned above, I maintain the opinion that this tendency will adversely affect children for two main reasons. Firstly, excess screen time will have a profoundly unfavorable effect on children’s academic performance. This is because if children are spending a disproportionate amount of time on their phones, it will cause a distraction from participation in school, along with reducing the attention span and time on academic tasks and homework. As a reasonable result, this will be pessimistically reflected in their exam grades. Another point worth mentioning is the possibility of being addicted to smartphones. This could be clarified by the fact that the more time spent on their phones, the less able the children will be to control the total amount of screen time without absentmindedly reaching for their phones as a habit. Correspondingly, this action will eventually result in the neglect of other responsibilities, including their own wellbeing and as part of society, similar to the case of a drug addict.

In conclusion, there is a wide range of factors involved in the excessive screen time of children. I personally believe that this trend will affect negatively not only children’s wellbeing and mental health but also their over academic performance. It is crucial that parents, educators and caregivers should implement appropriate measures to safeguard children’s wellbeing and to counteract the potential negative impacts of this phenomenon.