When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is argued that when it comes to deciding on what could be done to earn a living, many people would pick the payment to be the first factor to consider. To some extent, I agree with the idea.

On the one hand, there are numerous reasons to make salary the top priority. Firstly, money nowadays is the main trading unit. Almost every single item we use on daily basis is through purchasing with cash instead of trading with objects in the ancient times. Secondly, a high-paying job is equal to a highly respected position in an organization. For example, no cooperation owner would be willing to pay a janitor the same amount they offer to an executive director of the marketing department. Since those positions have never been easy to gain as people have to show they are worth it with all their capabilities, obtaining those positions has become a way for many people to prove themselves in life.

On the other hand, I believe that there are much more meanings to a particular job, as it could be out of pure preference. For instance, people working as activists to protect the environment or for animal's rights. Some I had the pleasure to encounter personally were living on a minimum wage, making their lives extremely difficult financially. However, despite all the adversities, they still have been working tirelessly in a great effort to create a better and greener world for our future generations.

In conclusion, while I admit that people have various reasons to choose a job for the salary, I believe that other factors should also be taken into account.