Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Opinions diverge on why children spend hours every day using smartphones. The reasons for this practice are children’s curiosity and the popularity of online games, which is considered a negative movement dramatically affecting children's growth.

Admittedly, the interest of students in the outside world and the booming of distinct types of virtual games are the main reasons that make them dependent on phones. When it comes to the former ground, this can be explained by the fact that humans live in the development environment where innovative technology is conducive for young people to explore the magnificence of the earth. Videos, articles or blogs on the internet may revolutionize children’s understanding without having real experience; therefore, they are inclined to use phones for several hours continuously to satisfy their curiosity. Regarding games which attract the youth, the visual image and the audio in virtual games are catchy enough to make children stick their eyes on the phone screen for hours. By that, the time they spend on phones surges considerably.

It is woeful that excessive cell phone use can affect children in negative ways. In terms of health issues, being addicted to phones makes young people imagine themselves as characters in the game or film so it leaps the chance to get autism. The reason is that they spend less time socializing with others; however, they prefer to talk to themselves as a symptom of mental illness. Further and even more importantly, the awareness of children about the real life may become exhausted. Now that the source of information they approach in a wrong way, the threat of over-using phones can affect children's growth in society.

By way of conclusion, the negative movement in over-depending on smartphones due to users’ curiosity and game addiction is transparent to observe.