In some cities and towns all over the world, traffic jams are a problem.

What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

What concerns many people these days is the dramatic traffic congestion in metropolis around the world. This essay will examine the prime causes associated and propose solutions to address this issue.

There are two main reasons resulting in traffic hold-ups in cities. First, the more people choose to live in metropolitan areas, the higher traffic participants are, leading to congestion during peak hours. This is especially true in some developing countries where the public transportation system is undeveloped and the majority of city dwellers use private cars or motorbikes as their main means of transportation. In addition, the second most prominent cause is the poor quality of infrastructure. Take Vietnam, for instance, roads are degraded with potholes due to the lack of maintenance, and the deficiency in transport facilities such as traffic lights or road warning signs will also bring about road accidents and consequently gridlocks.

Fortunately, solutions still exist to ameliorate this situation. This includes a concerted effort made by governments and communities. The governments should consider implementing other traffic calming methods such as constructing more overpasses and underpasses so as to minimize the certain number of cars and other vehicles on congested roads. Besides, the investment in the development of infrastructure with long-term maintenance, including widening the roads and easing the bottlenecks, will help relieve congestion. Furthermore, once the citizens are encouraged to switch to public transport and by using these means of transportation, the traffic in the city will flow more freely. These practices would prove useful in reducing the volume of vehicles on the road and ease congestion.

All things considered, traffic delays have been a great source of concern that need to be dealt with urgently. Only when the government and authorities, in combination with individual efforts, can the situation improve.