Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

The rapidly growing population in many countries results in a lack of housing space, especially in larger cities. Some metropolises react to this rising demand by building enormous houses, whereas others address the issue by expanding the living areas more widely. Which is the more beneficial approach and are there possibly any disadvantages?

As a response to the high housing demand, big cities such as Hong Kong or New York, have built a lot of so called Skyscrapers, monuments which allow hundreds of inhabitants to live inside due to their gigantic and enormous height. This approach is highly effective in areas where space is limited, therefore a good solution for housing demand in the center of a city. People who live for instance in a five story building can have more social interaction with their neighbors and support each other. Secondly tall buildings are usually less expensive as the rent is split up between more parties. This is beneficial for all people, who could not afford a whole house for themselves - for whatsoever reason. However, these huge buildings lack of personal space for inhabitants and green spaces such as gardens are rarely provided.

Cities and States that don't lack of space more often approach the housing issue by extending the city area and building suburbs that surround it. This has great advantages for both, the population and the environment. It allows people more personal space and moreover provides a safe environment for families with children. Parents might find it more comforting to have their children grow up in a suburban district rather than a skyscraper building, where they cannot control external influences like for example contact with criminals. By stretching out houses over a wider landscape, people are not constantly concentrated in the same area, which eventually could cause traffic pollution to drop. The benefit of improved air is just the first step into improving the environment of big cities.

To conclude, governments of every city should consider individually which solution suits them best by outweighing the benefits and disadvantages of both approaches. Therefore, I refuse to accept one solution as the better one but more think, it is a matter of circumstances that makes one solution more approved.