Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

Overpopulation has led to a certain number of problems such as lack of food, depletion of resources and especially the increasing demand for accommodations. Abundance of urban areas have also devised two possible solutions to the housing problem. Some have decided to construct higher and larger buildings while others build houses on larger size lands. Personally, I believe that addressing the accommodation crisis with gigantic constructions is more viable since the other option can wreak havoc upon the environment.

Taller housings can also be called apartments and these are capable of accommodating hundreds of households. The building plan is thought to be compact since it does not consume the majority of space and more floors can also be added further in the construction progress. Additionally, the strategy allows more efficient management methods. The city government can evaluate and allocate a sufficient amount of energy usage to each home, which can tackle the arising problems with the disappearance of natural resources. However, this policy is even more useful for countries with smaller lands. For example, Singapore has been known for its lack of landmasses and to compensate for this, the authorities here chose to build more apartments for its high population, allowing public services to spread more around the country.

Creating more homes in wider areas, however, will negatively influence the environment. As make allowances for more human accommodations, the natural habitats are destroyed and local species are probably extinct as a result. In fact, the world’s statistics reveal that deforestation is mostly caused by accommodation expansion instead of wildfires. House owners can dispose of their daily garbage anywhere as long as it is convenient for them instead of a general trash disposal site built around the apartment blocks. This will destroy the city sceneries and may lead to numerous infectious diseases that transmit airborne and waterborne. In Shanghai, the atmosphere is polluted not only by its industrial smoke but also by house owners’ one. The air inflicts damage to individuals’ lungs and emits odor to the surroundings.

In conclusion, I believe that since mankind has been inflated their territory to nature, it is high time we compressed. Therefore, countries should allow more apartments built as it seems to be the most possible solution to our ecosystem’s current status.