In some cities, public parks and open spaces are changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages

Recreational areas play an important role to guarantee the well-being of citizens. In certain urban areas, the public spaces are converted into gardens for the local planting their edible vegetation. I believe that the merits from this trend would definately overshadow its drawbacks.

If local citizens are allowed to plant their trees and vegetables at the public places, they can attain various benefits in form of money, and widening their social circle. The first merit is that the output from plants in parks or open spaces would provide people with sources of either income or food. Another point in support of this view is that when local people plant, cultivate anf harvest their outcomes, they will have a sense of social solidarity, which is created when people work together in order to gain their results. Likewise, when people accumulate their products, they also have a sense of fulfillment. Finally, as the approach encourages people to work regularly and dilligently, it tend to attract more people to get involved in the activities compared to traditional recreational activities.

On the other hand, there are issues associated with plantation of fruits and vegetables in public areas. The first disadvantage is that the green areas once supply shades for the public, would be eliminated to make room for growing other plants. Additionally, it is obvious that cultivation of edible vegetation requires the usage of fertilizers and chemicals, which would realease smell and have detrimental impications on the local environment. More importantly, while some people may favor agricultural activities, others who advocate conventional pursuits such as running, walking or sightseeing, may object to the new way public spaces are utilized.

In sum, I side with the view that public areas should be deployed for growing useful plants. Even though there are pitfalls, the gains from the suggestion are tremendous