In some cities of the world, cars are replacing bicycles. However in some other cities, bicycles are replacing cars. What are the reasons for these two developments? In your opinion, which one is better?

These days, it seems that cars are being substituted by bicycles in some cities, while the contrast trend is happening in other cities. These developments are caused by some factors as now will be discussed.

In some cities, bicycles are being replaced by cars for some reasons. The first reason is that people have become wealthier than before. Increased personal wealth means that individuals are more likely to own a ca these days. As a result, bicycles are outnumbered by cars in many cities. The second reason is the development of road networks. Roads are now wider and more available due to the policies of many governments, which makes cars become the most convenient and efficient mean of transportation in many cities. Additionally, the price of cars is not extremely expensive anymore as a result of low taxes, so it is easier to purchase a car than before.

Meanwhile, the opposite change can be explained by some factors. Firstly, in contemporary society, bicycles are becoming more popular as a result of people's concerns for the environment. As people become more aware of the negative impacts of exhaust fumes, which produced by cars to the environment, they tend to change their means of transportation to bicycles to protect the planet. Secondly, the main reason why many people choose to commute by bicycles instead of cars is health. As people become more dependent on cars, cycling is a good way to exercising and stay healthy. Lastly, in many cities today, people are discouraged from using cars due to the higher cost of fuel. As a result, they have to change their transport habits to bicycles.

In conclusion, the transition from cars to bicycles in some cities, and vice versa could be explained by some elements aforementioned. Additionally, I believe that changing our transport habits from cars to bicycles can have beneficial influence on the society as a whole.