In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them

Today, while people are gaining more weight, their health and fitness levels have a tendency to decline. The most notable causes are sedentary lifestyle and improper diet. Various solutions should be implemented to alleviate the situation, one of which is submitting government education programs.

The primary reason behind this health crisis is people’s inactive way of living. In other words, the innumerable conveniences provided by technological advancement such as cars, electric elevators, televisions and smartphones have made individuals progressively lazier, forming heavy dependance on electronic labour-saving devices. For instance, Europeans are reported to spend 4 hours per day watching television. This sedentary behaviour has contributed heavily to rapid weight problems and obesity increase in Europe, with estimates of 55% of adults being overweight.

Another cause of average weight increase and physical fitness decline is the overconsumption of poor quality sustenance. Convenience foods such as candy, soft drinks, processed meats, and canned products are becoming an ubiquitous part of modern life. A diet high in fat can possibly lead to obesity, diabetes, heart diseases, and even stroke. According to an American study in 2019, excessive fat intake is associated with greater risk of mortality compared to other factors affecting wellness.

One effective solution to tackle public’s health deterioration is to organise government - sponsored awareness campaigns which warn people against sedentary behaviours and poor diets, raising awareness amongst society. Take England as a striking example, the country has recently encouraged their citizens to eat 80 grams of fruits and vegetables every day, resulting in a remarkable decrease in obesity cases.

In conclusion, the current health crisis is caused by individuals’ inactive lifestyle and over-reliance on unhealthy foods. The trend will be gradually reversed if the government implements appropriate measures similar to that mentioned above.