In some countries, the average worker is obliged to retire at the age of 50, while in others people can work until they are 65 or 70. It has been claimed that workers over 50 are not responsive to rapidly changing ideas in the modern workplace and that for this reason, younger workers are to be preferred. To what extent do you agree?

In many countries in the world, retirement age differs. Some people claim that workers over 50 can't adapt well to rapid changing ideas in the modern workplace, for which younger staffs are preferred. Though there are still reasons for the old to work, I personally think employing the young would bring more benefits.

Firstly, young workers are more adaptive and enthusiastic in their job. Although older employee means more experienced one, young workers can come up with many innovative ideas, and can respond quickly to any changes. Second, hiring young workers are cheaper than keeping old ones. Furthermore, their productivity can easily surpass that of their predecessors. Lastly, not only the company will benefit from hiring new employees, but also the old ones. keeping the old in work after the average retirement age may cause depression and exhaustion. They might work for everyday life money instead of living on a pension and leading a peaceful post-retirement life.