In some countries, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. Advantages/ disadvantages of giving children this message?

In several nations, children are advised to be able to fulfil ambitions if they make an effort. From my perspective, this encouragement, though detrimental to some extent, can prove itself to be promising.

Granted, one might argue that everyone, including children, may not achieve specific goals even when they try their best. This is predicated on the assumption that unchangeable origins can affect children on their way to reach their futuristic achievements. For example, it is seemingly impractical for disabled adolescents to become skillful athletes compared to normal ones. Consequently, these children will be under pressure if adults continue claiming nothing is impossible for them. Furthermore, regarding normal children, when parents believe their offspring have flawless capability, it can lead to arrogance among children. In case the children do not succeed, they can be prone to mental problems.

Nonetheless, I strongly believe that children should be encouraged to have belief in their abilities for two main reasons. First and foremost, a tiny step can be considered as an achievement. To be specific, if children are able to take advantage of their backgrounds to make gradual improvement in life, it means that they successfully face their hardships. Hence, children are much more positive about their capabilities and many aspects of life. Second, children can discover their subtle talents on the way making effort to pursuit their dreams. Otherwise, they will always stay in their comfort zones and never have particular achievements.

In conclusion, children may not totally reach success and they can be overconfident if excessively believing in their abilities, both of which result in pressure when things go against their expectations. However, considering long-term benefits, children should attempt to pursuit any dream to be optimistic and well-rounded.