In some countries children have very strict rules of behavior while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want To what extent should children have to follow the rules Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example f

Children around the world are expected to follow certain rules of behaviour depending on their location. While some countries have strict behaviour rules on children, some countries allow children to do anything they want.

Countries that levy strict rules of behaviour on a child have certain reasons behind this action. The main reason is to learn to respect their elders. If this is not given emphasis, children will back answer elders and will not obey them. Another reason is to develop discipline. When children are educated about the importance of discipline, they will follow it throughout their life and it will benefit them in their future. Other than this, being polite, kind and punctual will also help them in all walks of life. If all these rules are not strictly followed, children would become ill-mannered and would not know how to behave properly in various situations. However, too many restrictions would not be taken positively by children, for instance, if a child is been made to follow certain table manners, he/she may do the opposite as they are too immature to understand table manners.

On the other hand, some countries believe that children should be allowed to do anything they want. When children are given certain independence, they get an opportunity to learn to become independent. This exposure will also make them learn from their mistakes. But, there should be certain rules too as giving too much independence may have certain effects. Rules that are necessary should be followed no matter what. For example, though children are immature to understand table manners, they should be made to understand not to disturb other customers.

To conclude, behaviour rules are essential for children, but to an extent of not affecting their independence. Parents should be able to maintain that leverage while imposing behavior rules on their children