In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating

too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher

tax in this food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, in many countries, a great deal of people, consuming excessive amount of junk food, have health issues, and therefore, some argue that the officials should address the problem by imposing a tax. I believe that although unhealthy food has a negative influence on people, the authorities should not impose a tax on it in order to avoid unintended consequences.

Fast food, which is accepted as one of the most inexpensive meal, has a adverse impact on the health of the whole nations. The reason behind is it contains additives and

artificial substances which commonly lead to chronic diseases such as obesity and blood pressure. As an example, almost one-third of population in the world are

suffering from overweighting as a result of junk food. Therefore, it seems that if governments impose a tax on it, people would embark healthy diets and lifestyles.

In contrary, imposing a tax on fast food by governments could create another or even more serious problem, such as starvation. Middle-class societies cannot afford organic meals so that

they are consuming fast food in order to survive. For instance, in developing countries, where the average salary is low, individuals avoid purchasing food which is

out of their budgets. As long as the authorities impose a tax on fast food, that people would be liable to be starving, not mentioned to having unhealthy diets.

In conclusion, despite influencing negatively on people's health, junk food is the key for tackling the problem of starvation. Therefore, I believe that governments

should not impose a tax on junk food, but rather make healthy meal more affordable.