In some countries it is usual for young people who graduate from high school to spend a year working or travelling before going to university What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this Give reasons and examples from y

After finishing school, students have some spare time in between before moving onto universities and this time should be used to do work or to see the world. This is a belief hold by many countries around the globe. Firstly, this essay will discuss the benefits of working or traveling before beginning further studies and secondly, the drawbacks in doing so.

On the one hand, working before moving to colleges or universities can help to enhance some skills in an individual also to engender a sense of self-dependence in him. The working atmosphere will enable a person to get used to the austere career life. Furthermore, when a person pass on to universities for higher studies, travelling becomes a thing occuring once in a blue moon. University students rarely get the chance to see the world and natural bounties and thus, journeying before beginning graduation enables the students to do some sightseeing. Also, it helps them to take a break from stressful student life and get some mental refreshment, which will be helpful in becoming enthusiastic for studies. This further contributes to the rise economy tourism industry all around the world.

On the other hand, the primary drawback of working or traveling before starting university studies is that sometimes, students get drained of energy and lose interest in further studies. In an article published in The New York times in 2016, it was stated that the 80% of students who took long duration breaks after finishing high school, were unable to gain concentration in studies. Such students also have higher chance of failing and mostly fall victims to depression. Students who travel after schooling gets encountered with different cultures and global issues, and sometimes they find it utterly difficult to run back to the studies. Also, working students think that they already have attained skills needed to earn money, while in real, the opposite is true. These type of students often quit studying, and due to this trend, companies and scientific organisations have had lost millions of potential students all around all the world.

In conclusion, the pro of working and travelling before moving to university is getting pre-career skills and getting the chance to enjoy the world, whereas the main con is lost of interest in getting further education. Obviously, the disadvantages will further reduce if students are made aware about the time limit of working or traveling after schooling.