Nowadays an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor Do you think this is a positive or negative development

The fear of visiting a doctor for several reasons is increased to such an extent that trying other home remedies and treatments seem more convenient to people. Though, in some cases, other treatments have produced positive results, this trend is negative as the probability of having bad, undesirable impacts on health is much higher.

It is the result of frequent, highly publicised exposes from news organisations that people started to lose faith among doctors. They believe that whatever sort of disease they have, will deteriorate if they opt to medical treatment. Other opinion raised by them is that doctors charge unreasonably high fees for medicines and treatments. Although this perspective is true to some extent, avoiding medical therapies is not the appropriate solution.

A study conducted by Medical bureau of public health, Manchester, reveals that 7 out of 10 people suffering from serious health issues have made their conditions detrimental by not visiting their family doctors. When asked why they do it they explained that they are trying to improve it by using other medications, yet the attempts have been unsuccessful as, they have worsened their situations. Regular doctors know their patients at a personal level. They understand which type of medicines to give and at what dosages. By avoiding visiting them and trying alternative methods, health only worsens as new treatments might not suit a certain person because of his inability to handle them.

Furthermore, modern medical treatments are comparatively more reliable as advancement in science have led to better understanding of cell and molecular structures at a deeper level. Today, the success rate of surgeries have increased significantly. Modern crucial discoveries such as pencillin for treating malaria and Kemotherapies for curing cancer and so on, have been successful in saving million lives. Thus, although the traditional medicines had been able to cure people in the earlier days, due to unavailability of accurate information about their effictiveness, they should be avoided.

To conclude, people should always visit their doctors, as they understand us fully, rather than trying other methods. This is a negative trend and should be checked and this is the responsibility of community as whole.