Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The fear of visiting a doctor for several reasons is increased to such an extent that trying other home remedies and treatments seem more convenient to people. Though, in some cases, other treatments have produced positive results, this trend is negative as the probability of having bad, undesirable impacts on health is much higher.

It is the result of frequent, highly publicised exposes from news organisations that people started to lose faith among doctors. They believe that whatever sort of disease they have will deteriorate if they opt to medical treatment. Other opinion raised by detractors of health institutions is that they charge unreasonably high fees for medicines and treatments. Although this perspective is true to some extent, avoiding medical therapies is not the appropriate solution.

A study conducted by Medical bureau of public health, Manchester, reveals that 7 out of 10 people suffering from serious health issues have made their conditions detrimental by not visiting their family doctors. When asked why they do it they explained that they are trying to improve it by using other medications. Yet the attempts seem unsuccessful as they actually have worsened their situations. Regular doctors know their patients at a personal level. They understand which type of medicines to give and at what dosages. By avoiding visiting them and trying alternative methods, health only worsens as new treatments might not suit a certain person because of his inability to handle them.

To conclude, people should always visit their doctors, as they understand us fully, rather than trying other methods. This negative development should dwindle and this is the responsibility of community as whole.