technological progress in the past century has its negative effect despite its remarkable contribution. do you agree or disagree

Aside from the convenient life it serves, technological industry has many downsides. I strongly advocate the given statement and the reasons behind my support will be discussed in this essay using examples from my daily life.

Scientific developments have been pushing back the frontiers since the previous century and it has led to cutting edge advances in technology. These developments have made our lives so much easier than before. For instance, we now have convenient access to even remote parts of the world and the advent of internet has completely revolutionised our lives, providing tons of information anywhere in the world. Despite all these pros, technology has also made ourselves so dependent on it that we cannot imagine surviving without it.

Although we are able to get a lot of data about anything which made researching a subject a lot easier, there is also a damage of overloaded information. Addiction to technological advances, like elevators and electric stairs, has led to detrimental effects on our physical health. Many people are working from home nowadays and the rates of people getting obesity has increased over 60% in the past few years, as published in The times of New york in 2020. The cases of cyberbullying has also increased enormously over the time which has led to increased depression among people.

Moreover, modern games invite players to a virtual world of fantasy, including war, which results in severe effects on their brains. This can damage their intellectual skills as well. Our online identities are not secured by privacy and scammers or hackers can steal that from us anytime. One of the first scientific inventions, the nuclear bomb, had resulted in the destruction of mankind in Japan and this can re -happen in future as well due to the creation of deadly weapons. Due to the introduction of machines in manufacturing industries, many workers have lost their jobs which has led to higher number of people living under poverty line. Air, noise and all kind of environmental pollutions have risen enormously in the past few decades.

In conclusion, I am in broad agreement with the claim that technological advances have led to detrimental effects in society, all of which are discussed in the essay.