In the future nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Nowadays, the trend of e-reading and learning is increasing globally. This has a lot of impacts on our society but the most influencing one is the decline in sales of books and newspapers as more and more people are able to read them through the internet.

However, I do not accord with the given statement as I believe that there is a section of society which prefer to read from hardcopies rather than virtual ones. This essay shall discuss the reasons behind my disagreement with some examples.

With the advent of technology, every errand can be run through computers and mobile phones. Although books and daily news can be read online with lower or no costs at all, it can never replace the satisfaction received after reading them physically. For example, most elderly people have the habit of picking up the paper as soon as they wake up. No matter how simpler using the Internet can be, it seems inconvenient to them to read the news online as they are used to their old patterns and it is not easier to adapt to this new technology.

Moreover, there are many families who are concerned about their children's health. For instance, a study conducted in Manitoba's institute of technology, revealed that more than 75% families all over the world want their children to learn and read from real books as the impact of electronic books is very well known to be deteriorating on their overall health. It leads to their hindered physical growth and slow development of cognitive skills.

Furthermore, as printing media gives employment to many people, the government is unlikely to let online media take toll over it. Otherwise, it will not be helpful to them in the upcoming elections time.

To conclude, it is irrefutable that reading online saves a lot of money yet, the complete withdrawal of printed books and newspaper is very unlikely to happen in the coming time.